Javascript is currently disabled. This site requires Javascript to function correctly. Please enable Javascript in your browser!

The Trinidad and Tobago Fire Service was established as a separate entity from the Police Service in the year 1951. The Fire Service is statutorily responsible for fire fighting, investigations into the point of origin and causes of fires, fire safety and the certification of certain premises regarding its Life and Fire Safety standards. The main guiding statutes are the Fire Service Act Chapter 35:50, as amended by Act 10 of 1997 and the Occupational Safety and Health Act 2004 as amended 2006 all according to the Laws of the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago. We are also guided by the Provisional Collection of Taxes Order 1993, as amended.Notwithstanding the main guiding Statutes, we are also guided by several other Legislations of the Laws of the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago, which requires agencies responsible for issuing certain Licenses and approvals to consult with the Chief Fire Officer before issuing them.
Mobility and Equipment  


Our mobile fleet is concurrent with the requirements of a modern fire service which is adaptive to the changes in building architecture and materials. It comprise first response vehicles such as Water Tenders, Water Tankers, Hydraulic Platforms ( Cherry Pickers), Emergency Tenders, HazMat and HazChem vehicles, Aircraft Crash Tenders, Hose Layers and Ambulances. Support vehicles comprise Wreckers, open tray trucks, Jeeps, Vans and Buses.

We also have a range of equipment such as portable pumps and generators, lighting plants, Self Contained Breathing Apparatus (SCBA) sets, Decontamination units and cutting and spreading tools (Jaws of Life) which are used in the rescue of persons involved in motor vehicular accidents. 



Primarily we provide a twenty- four hour emergency service responding to all types of incidents that may involve a threat to life and property. To do this we employ over 2700 uniformed and over 200 non uniformed staff.

To facilitate the effective completion of our duties which involves a timely response to carry out firefighting, rescue of trapped persons, provide humanitarian service and other non-fire incidents, we operate from twenty four (24) Fire Stations. These stations are strategically located among the Divisions.

The main Administrative arm of the Fire Service is located at the Headquarters on Wrightson Road, Port-of-Spain which oversee the Corporate Services Division. The four other devolved command areas which are geographically located are:-
Northern Division – 11 Stations
Central Division – 4 Stations including one at Piarco International Airport
Southern Division- 6 Stations
Tobago Division – 3 Stations including one at A.N.R Robinson International Airport

The Corporate Services Division comprise : Public Relations Welfare and Research, Ambulance, The Fire Service School, Engineering (Vehicle workshops), Water and Essential Services, Fire Prevention, Quarter Master Stores and the Fire Service Music Band.

The other Divisions operate the Emergency and Fire suppression units along with scaled down versions of Fire Prevention, Water and Essential Services, Training and Engineering along with the Land Search and Rescue (LSAR) teams.

Emergency Numbers:
   Fire 990 Police 999 ODPM 511 Ambulance 811


Asset 1